I'm Larry Carr, and I am proud to serve as a Councilmember in Morgan Hill. 

I am running for re-election with a clear and positive plan for Morgan Hill:  rebuild our economy and help local businesses re-open safely, address issues of equity within our community, limit growth, support public safety, protect open space and agricultural resources, continue making downtown a vibrant centerpiece to our community.

Morgan Hill is at an inflection point in our history.  Will politics influence us, or will we rise above to solve issues and continue with Morgan Hill’s record of achievement.  

This election is about serious issues, and the leadership qualities needed to move us forward and protect our quality of life.  I have a proven record of working with the community and my colleagues to get things done.


I hope you'll spend some time on this site learning about me and my approach to addressing issues, my position on some of the pressing issues Morgan Hill faces and my experience in leadership in our great community.


Larry Carr

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram


Putting My Experience
to Work


I was first elected to the Morgan Hill City Council in November of 2000.  I have served as Mayor Pro-Tem, Vice Chair of the former Redevelopment Agency and Chair of the Economic Development Corporation.

As your council member I have had a hand in every major decision over the last 20 years.  From authoring an anti-vaping ordinance to get vaping materials out of the hands of our kids to co-authoring two growth control measures, creating an Environmental Agenda for the City and getting CalTrain and other transportation funding for South County, I've been effective in achieving results for our community.

Prior to serving on the Council, I served four years (1996-2000) on the Morgan Hill Unified School District Board of Trustees. While President of the Board for two years, I oversaw implementation of class-size reductions, strategies to relieve the district of severe over-crowding that resulted in the construction of a new elementary school - Barrett, renovations of Live Oak and the construction of Morgan Hill’s second comprehensive high school - Sobrato High School. 

As a Council Member I serve on many outside agencies representing Morgan Hill and all of South County.


Valley Transportation Authority Board of Directors – representing Morgan Hill and Gilroy

  Chair, Administration & Finance Committee

  Vice Chair, Capitol Programs Committee

  Governance & Audit Committee

  Chair, Mobility Partnership with San Benito County

  Caltrain Local Policy Maker Group


South County Regional Wastewater Authority (with City of Gilroy)

            Chair, Joint Powers Board of Directors

Joint Water Resources Committee (with Valley Water District)

City/School Liaison Committee (with Morgan Hill Unified School District)

South County Joint Planning Advisory Committee (with Santa Clara County and City of Gilroy)

Flood Control Advisory Committee (with Valley Water District)

Silicon Valley Regional Interoperability Authority (with Law Enforcement and Cities of Santa Clara County)

Santa Clara County Housing and Community Development Advisory Committee



Morgan Hill Police Officers' Association

Morgan Hill Fire Fighters, Cal Fire local 2881

Morgan Hill Community Service Officers' Association

State Senator Bill Monning

Assembly Member Robert Rivas

Santa Clara County Supervisor Mike Wasserman

Morgan Hill Council Member John McKay

Morgan Hill Treasurer David Clink

Santa Clara Valley Water Director John Varela

Morgan Hill Unified School District Trustees

     Adam Escoto

     Mary Patterson

Open Space Authority Board Member Alex Kennett

Glenn Hendricks, Sunnyvale City Council Member and Vice Chair VTA Board

Johnny Khamis, San Jose City Council Member

Sergio Jimenez, San Jose City Council Member

Steve Tate, former Mayor of Morgan Hill

Marilyn Librers, former Council Member

Greg Sellers, former Council Member

John Sorci, former Mayor of Morgan Hill

Laurie Barke, former Mayor of Morgan Hill

Ron Woolf, former MHUSD Trustee

Bob Benevento, former MHUSD Trustee

Donna Ruebusch, former MHUSD Trustee

Barbara Krainock Ristrim

Jennifer Tate

Marilyn & Matt Wendt

Mary & Mike Cox

Janie & Roger Knopf

Swanee Edwards

Vivian Varela

Poonam Chabra

Mary & Bill Hiland

Fawn Myers

Mario Banuelos

Ellyn & Nick Gaich

Paul Lake

Joyce & Jim Carr

Robin & Jim Cassidy

Annette & Chris Jones

Bobbi & Ben Morales

Dan Kenney

Diane & Ed Tewes

Bill Chiala

Peggy & Ron Woolf

Rosy & Rich Bergin

Kathy & Brian Sullivan

Elaine & Dana Ditmore

Aimee & Brad Ledwith

Dave Poeschel

Emily & Lee Wilcox

Micheal Brookman

Sandy & David de la Cuesta

Santa Clara County Association of Realtors


  - partial list

  - titles included for identification only


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram